John Palisano Reviews World War Cthulhu

WORLD WAR CTHULHU
ED: Brian M. Sammons & Glynn Owen Barrass

During the IndieGoGo campaign, I watched this closely and was happy to contribute and got a copy with the full-color artwork throughout. Each story has its own, and each is illustrated beautifully by M/ Wayne Miller. The exquisite cover is by Vincent Chong, and fully captures the feel of the book. It’s a very good looking and feeling book. It’s laid out nicely, easy to read, and the art makes you want to return it. That’s not supposed to be important, but for me, it’s very important. If it’s hard to read, it’s hard for me to get through.

Each story is set in a different era and war, ranging from ancient times, to modern, to the future. Pretty fun idea. Not every story personally appealed to me, but that’s not taking away from them. It’s simply there are so many styles, and war stories aren’t usually my favorites. That’s where this anthology became fun for me, as I had the feeling many authors recognized that, too, and blended in the Lovecraftian Mythos in new and unexpected ways.

I hate singling out authors or stories, as I feel it’s disrespectful to those who are not. Rather, I think there is something there for most fans of the horror genre to enjoy. Not everyone will like everything, of course, but in World War Cthulhu, the editors and authors have done an exemplary job of it.

Leave a Reply

